Complete Count Committee

A Complete Count Committee (CCC) is a committee representative of the broad diversity of Sacramento County. A CCC is formed to increase awareness about the census and motivate community residents to complete the census questionnaire. The CCC develops and implements a plan designed to target the unique characteristics of our community.

The Sacramento Complete Count Committee has an Executive Committee comprised of representatives of the Sacramento Region Community Foundation and the County of Sacramento. The Executive Committee coordinates and provides oversight to two Steering Committees, a Community Steering Committee and a Government Steering Committee. Each Steering Committee has formed working groups to capture specific areas of the community in order to target education and outreach. Altogether these committees comprise the Complete Count Committee.  Members, their organizations and working groups are listed below. 

Complete Count Structure

The Community Steering Committee consists of leaders from community organizations. Subcommittees were formed to focus on the following areas:

  • Latino Population – Rachel Rios, La Familia Counseling Center
  • African-American  Population – Cassandra Jennings, Greater Sacramento Urban league
  • Asian/Pacific Islander Population – Cha Vang, Hmong Innovating Politics
  • Ages 0 to 5 – Julie Gallelo, First 5 Sacramento Commission
  • Youth – Kim Williams, Sacramento Building Healthy Communities
  • LGBTQI+ – Ben Hudson, Gender Health Center and David Heitstuman, Sac LGBT Community Center
  • Seniors and Veterans – Jennifer Berdugo, AARP
  • People with Disabilities​ – Tho Vinh Banh, Disability Rights California 
  • Housing Instability – Lisa Bates and Gregory Schuelke, Legal Services of Northern California
  • Health – Kelly Bennett, Sacramento Covered
  • Labor – Tamie Dramer, Organize Sacramento
  • Business – Clarence Williams, California Capital Financial Development Corporation

Community Steering Committee photo 

Government Steering Committee Members

The Government Steering Committee is made up of representatives from local government organizations.

  • Transportation – Chris Flores, Sacramento Regional Transit District
  • Cities & Special Districts – Zack Yeates, City of Sacramento
  • Education, Parks & Rural – Dave Gordon; Frank Pisi , Sacramento County Office of Education
  • Housing Instability – LaShelle Dozier; Susan Veazy, Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency (SHRA)
  • Law Enforcement and Office of Emergency Services – Marc Marquez, Sacramento County Probation
  • Utilities –  Steve Johns, Sacramento Municipal Utilities District (SMUD)
  • Libraries, Parks & Rural – Cathy Crosthwaite, Sacramento Public Library
  • Voter's Choice Act Elections – Courtney Bailey, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters
  • Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Website, Technology – Rami Zakaria, Sacramento County Chief Information Officer
  • Employment/Jobs – Roy Kim; William Walker, Sacramento Employment and Training Agency (SETA)
  • Public Health  – Dr. Peter Beilenson; Megan Sheffield, Sacramento County Health Services
  • Human Services – Mary Sabillo; Veronica Hamel, Sacramento County Human Assistance
  • Homeless/Group Quarters/Point in Time Count – Cindy Cavanaugh, Sacramento County Homeless Initiatives and Shelters

Government Steering Committee photo 

Read the Board Letter and Resolution of the Sacramento County Board of Supervisors Affirming the County of the Sacramento's Support Of and Partnership with the 2020 Census.​